Making Sense of Points System for PR in Australia

Points System for PR in Australia

Australia just rocks. Yes, it rocks! From amazingly high living standards to first-rate healthcare facilities, from a booming economy to very easy-to-follow visa and immigration services, this mammoth island nation has several attractions for the world migrants. So, it is hardly a matter of surprise that it finds an incredibly significant place in the heart of the millions of overseas immigration inspired people scattered across the world. Now we discuss about How points system for PR in Australia works?Points System for PR in Australia

Points System for Permanent Residency in Australia

It’s an amazing but highly handy visa and immigration system run and managed by the Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP). By introducing the system way back in the year 1972, Canberra brought revolutionary change in the history of Australia immigration. The much criticized policy of selecting immigrants on the basis of ethnic and racial basis was done away with, and a fair system of selecting the candidates on the basis of their attributes was formally introduced in 1989.

Points System for PR in Australia–How Points Are Awarded?

The threshold to meet the requirements is 60 points even as the points are awarded on the basis of following factors:

Age: At the time of submitting the application, the applicant must be between the age group of 18 and 49. A minimum of 15 points and a maximum of 30 points can be scored.

Language: The applicant must be at least competent in English and to prove it must submit a language score such as the TOEFL (12 listening, 13 reading, 21 writing and 18 speaking) or IELTS (6 bands in each component).

Experience outside Australia: It is possible for the applicants can claim points for three/five/eight years of experience outside the country in any nominated occupation in the last 10 years. A candidate can score a minimum of 5 and a maximum of 15 points.

Education outside Australia: A person can score for a Bachelors or higher degree obtained outside the country. A minimum of 10 and a maximum of 20 points can be earned depending on the applicant’s qualification.

Australian Experience: An aspirant can claim points for Australian experience for one/three/five/eight (full time paid work) in any one of the occupations listed on the Skilled Occupation List (SOL). A minimum of 5 points and a maximum of 20 points can be earned.

Australian Education: It is possible for the candidates to claim additional points if he has perused education in the country. A minimum 5 points and a maximum of 10 points can be earned.

Partner Skills: If the partner meets certain conditions, based on his age, skills, language, and qualification, then it is achievable for the applicant to claim an additional five points. It is crucial that the partner nominated occupation is from the same occupational list from that of yours.

Professional years/ Credential Community Language: If the applicant has completed at least one year of Professional year programme during the last 4 years, along with Credential community language qualification points assessed as Para professional translator by NAATI, it will help get him 5 points extra.

Sponsorship Points: The applicant requires a nomination from state or territorial organization or else sponsorship from family members living in a specific area. Candidates can earn up to 10 points.

Besides, the aspirant must also meet the health and character requirements.

Health Requirements

The health requirements depend on one’s specific circumstances–the country of origin, the time spent abroad during the last five years. The result of one’s health examination is valid for a period of one year.

Character Requirements

You must submit a character certificate of the countries you have lived in, during the last 10 years once you turned 16.

Note: For the nominated occupation, the applicant must choose a profession from the Skilled Occupation List (SOL) for visa subclass 189 and 489 (if sponsored by a family member) or from a state occupation list eligible for a state nomination. And, it is mandatory to get their skilled assessed before an Expression of Interest (EOI) is lodged.

There are three primary categories for the points System for PR in Australia, namely, the Subclass 189, 190 and 489.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* indicates required field