ICE Considering More Visa Security Units!

The U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) has recently announced that it is planning to increase the number of visa security branches globally. A t present, ICE has its units in twelve countries and with the expansion, it may increase four more branches in different countries all over the world. Moreover, the agency has plans to increase the number even more next year.

Reportedly, the ICE has collaborated with the Department of State to recognize countries with greater security risk in order to consider them for having visa security units. It aims at accelerating the visa process in different countries, where people intend to immigrate to the United States. This is part of the agency’s tactics to prevent terrorist threats. The agency is likely to appoint experienced and efficient agents into these visa security posts. The agents will be responsible for reviewing visa applications, conduct investigations and provide advice and training to diplomats of respective countries.

The agency has also revealed names of the countries that are slated to add on to the list of sixteen countries. However, fourteen other countries have been recognized by the Homeland Security Department individually, which may need these units. Countries, such as Iraq, Afghanistan, Libya, Algeria, Iran, Nigeria, Lebanon, Pakistan, Cuba, Syria, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, and Yemen are included on the list of 14.  At present, ICE boasts its visa security branches in twelve countries, viz. Canada, Saudi Arabia, Philippines, Egypt, Indonesia, Germany, Morocco, Jordan, Morocco, Pakistan, United Arab Emirates, Hong Kong and Venezuela.

For more information and updates on immigration front, consider the services of an Immigration and Visa Consultant.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* indicates required field