IELTS Score for Australia-All You Need To Know

Doing well on the language front is critical to finding acceptance for Australia immigration, especially if you want to move as an economic migrant.

The Australian Government will assess your language skills using the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) tests. Though you have many other options also, since the IELTS is the most commonly used and accepted, check this guide and use the information shared to chalk-out your immigration plans with the right planning.

What’s IELTS? It’s is one of the original testing agencies that the Australian Government employs to authenticate applicants’ English language capabilities.

Thanks to the execution of a chain of different English competency thresholds with varying kinds of visa necessitating different thresholds it may not be easy to understand how it works.

The good news is that for majority of the visas available, you need either a Vocational or Competent level of English, to make the cut.

Visa Kind & Level of English You Need

1. Visa Kind Student Visas
Level of English: An education provider may not appraise your English language abilities, and want these to be satisfactory for your studies. Still, the possibility of the Department of Home Affairs (DHA) requesting a test report can’t be ruled out.

2. Visa Kind Graduate Visa
Level of English: Competent

3. Nearly All Skilled Migration Visas
189 Visas & 190 Visas

You will require exhibiting not less than Competent English.

The DHA will consider the Cambridge Advanced English test results only in case you faced it on or post January 1, 2015.
The IELTS comes with an academic test and a general training test. For visa application, the DHA admits every English test form mentioned above. But, the possibility of the assessing officials seeking special English test form can’t be ruled out.

457/482 Visa: Vocational/Competent

4. Parent Visas: Not needed
5. Partner Visas: Not needed

Check Your Eligibility

IELTS Scores & Time Given for Each Module

It’s mandatory that you complete the IELTS test in 1 single sitting. You will get 2 hours and 45 minutes for the test: Listening (30 minutes), Reading (60 minutes), Writing (60 minutes), and     Speaking (11–14 minutes).

IELTS Score for Australia

Vocational English: Not less than 5 points for each of the 4 test components.

IELTS score for Australia PR

Competent English: Not less than 6 points for each of the 4 components.

Additional Points: What IELTS Score Will Fetch You These?

In case you get an IELTS Score above 6, you may qualify to be accepted as having either proficient or superior English.

In case you start hitting the said high thresholds, you will get added points.

IELTS Score for Proficient English

An IELTS score of at least 7 for each of the 4 test components.  With Proficient English, you will get 10 points extra.

IELTS Score for Superior English

An IELTS score of at least 8 for each of the 4 test components.  With Superior English, you will get 20 points extra.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* indicates required field