A New Bill Could Deny Citizenship to US-born Children!

The US state of Arizona has been in the news for several reasons in the recent times, immigration legislation that commands the immigration status check of every individual entering the state topping the list of reasons. With the ongoing controversy of the immigration bill which does not seem to end in no time, here is another issue that could raise human voices once again. For, issues like birthright citizenship have the intensity to fuel an outrage among people. However, this is not an issue in Arizona only- it concerns another thirteen states of the US.

A newly formed coalition of Republican US lawmakers, who are often refers to Grand Old Party lawmakers is all geared up to approach the Supreme Court to rule on the issue of ‘birthright citizenship’, thereby challenging the US Constitution’s Citizenship Clause. They lawmakers will approach the federal court in an intention to abolish the Citizenship Clause that states ‘all persons born/naturalized in the United States are the citizens of the nation or the states where they live’.

The change that the coalition of Republican lawmakers wants in the Citizenship Clause of the constitution is that citizenship should not be given to United States-born children whose parents are/were undocumented immigrants in the nation. The Citizenship Clause was put in the US Constitution to annul the popularly known “Dred Scott Decision” of 1857, which said that black (Africans who were imported to the US for slavery) people are not protected by the US Constitution and that they could never be the citizens of the nation.

The coalition, which is named State Legislators for Legal Immigration comprises more than 40 Republican politicians of the nation. The coalition has big plan to introduce similar law which does not allow children of undocumented immigrants US citizenship in as good as fourteen states. States which can see the introduction of the bill include:

  • Arizona
  • Pennsylvania
  • Delaware
  • Alabama
  • Idaho
  • Michigan
  • Indiana
  • Montana
  • Mississippi
  • New Hampshire
  • Nebraska
  • Oklahoma
  • Texas
  • Utah

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* indicates required field